The First 40ish Pounds (Part I – Exercise)

Now, I say “40ish” because I am currently at less than 40 pounds lost but at one point I was at 45 pounds lost so I’ll go with the average since I seem to be hovering around this magical number. In one of my earlier posts “A Bit of Back Story” I talked a little about how I started my journey May 2013 and a bit about how I did it specifically. Am I using this method now? No. Did it work? Yes.

I think for a beginner this an excellent way to start losing weight. Here’s what I did:

Exercise

I used the couch to 5K program (C25K). This is a program that pretty much says it all in its name. You can go from doing absolutely no exercise (couch) to running a 5K in 9 weeks time. In case you don’t know, a 5K is about 3.1 miles. There is a site for this where they want you to buy their apps and stuff. They even had one where zombies would chase you or so I’ve heard. I did not feel like paying money for someone to tell me when to run and when to walk. There are tons of free apps out there that will do that and you can read everything you’re supposed to do on this site.

Each workout takes about 20 to 30 minutes and you perform 3 workouts each week. I was able to do this twice a week before work and once on the weekend. Gradually you increase your endurance. Sometimes there will be weeks where you get freaked out and think you can’t possibly run that long. I encourage you to try. Don’t fool yourself into thinking you’re not ready. The program is specifically designed to prepare you for the next step. If you fail, then so be it, pick yourself up and try again. Don’t let your fear hold you back though. I know because I was scared too, but I was able to do it in the end.

I recommend investing in some nice running shoes with good support. Your feet will get sore and you may get shin splints without them. Pushing too hard can also cause shin splints. Don’t try to sprint the entire time, if at all, you’ll get tired, hurt, and won’t want to do it again. I kept my pace at around 4 or 5 mph. If you go slower than that, that’s fine. Just keep moving trying to stay above a walk (unless it’s telling you to walk).

I also recommend running outside if possible. It’s best to go in the early morning or right before sunset so you don’t get heat stroke unless you have a really nice shady park to run in. Try to avoid running in really high temperatures and make sure you are hydrated  and fueled well before your run. You don’t want to eat or drink right before your run either or else you may get cramps. Try to keep your meals and drinks at least an hour before your run. I believe running outside is best because then you are more prepared for a real 5K race which would most likely be outdoors. Obviously rain and snow and such happen and sometimes you have to use a treadmill. In this scenario, I recommend using a 1 or 2% incline on your run because this mimics what is generally found in nature.

Always, always, always stretch before running making sure to hold each stretch for 30 seconds or more. Focus on your calves, hamstrings, and quadriceps to prevent energy. If you have more time, stretch more than just your legs, it will help increase flexibility which helps prevent injury in all activities.

Since completing this program back in September 2013 I have run 6 official 5K races. They are a ton of fun. I love dressing up, especially wearing tutus! And there is a huge sense of community running with so many people. Also the money made from these races is generally donated to a charity!! I can easily run a 5K any day of the week now and I’ve even pushed myself to run 5 miles before. I am ridiculously proud that I completed this program and of where I am now and so I highly recommend it.

Good Luck & Happy Losing!!

One thought on “The First 40ish Pounds (Part I – Exercise)

Leave a comment